Settling down in your early twenties. Like, waaaaay down.

Since February of last year, I became a wife, bought a house, and became a mother. All before I can even legally rent a car.

When people imagine their early twenties, it’s usually thoughts of parties, university, and late nights out. A time spent with friends, impulse decisions, and selfishness. (not a bad kind of selfishness. just the “i have nobody else to worry about” kind of selfishness). I, however, found myself following a different path. I want to preface this by stating that no path is better than the other. As individuals, we have different goals and priorities at different points in our lives. We all are just doing what we feel is right in that moment. We all have different callings, and there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. In fact, that’s what is so beautiful about life.

Since I was young, my soul was old, and I found myself incredibly family centered. I always knew I wanted to be a mother. It was just something I always knew I was meant to be. Of course I never planned to rush things to get there, just to go with life as it came. When I met Noah, I was on a trip to Pittsburgh for music. (I’m a cellist). From our first date, we clicked. Things were easy between us, there was no trying. Our love genuine, our relationship natural. We were engaged 6 months later. After our wedding, we had talked of starting a family but Noah wanted to wait a year or so. A month into our marriage, we decided that growing our family was something we wanted, and knew it was something we were capable of handling emotionally and financially. We got pregnant 2 months later. THATS THE IMPORTANT PART GUYS. Never, seriously, never; make a big choice without thinking of what it will really mean. We knew with a baby came stress, more financial responsibilities, and overall is something that truly is a life changer. We knew it would cut the honeymoon newlywed stage short, and our attention would go to the baby instead of romantic date nights and retreats. When I talk about being a young mommy, or a young wife, I am in no way glamorizing it or encouraging others to live similarly. I made these choices because my circumstance allowed me to. 

I have heard a lot from a lot of different people throughout all of this. My best friend, who is a college student studying medicine, expressed fears of me throwing away my youth. Fears of ruining my body, making a choice without thinking, and taking on too much responsibility too fast therefore never having that fun, youthful period of self discovery and growth. These are all points I understand and have considered. I just don’t look at it that way. I do not see being a mother or a wife as ruining or throwing away my youth. I see it as sharing it with people I love. Making memories and going through different stages of life with two people who love and support me unconditionally. Before I had Mason, I’ll be honest, I was quite the lost soul. Mason gave me purpose. He has given me the motivation to do things and make moves to better myself so that he can have a happy, successful mommy. To make him proud of me.

I will never, ever regret this time of my life and the choices I made. Noah and our child bring a light into my life that I never thought possible. Marriage is not all happiness and roses. Motherhood is not easy. But they are the best things that have ever happened to me.

Moral of the story, DO YOU, BOO. Seriously. Follow your wildest dreams. Pursue your calling. Whether it’s being a working mommy, a stay at home mommy, a doctor, a lawyer, staying single and independent; it does not matter. As long as it makes you happy to wake up every day.

Go forward unafraid my friends.

XO,

Sara.

Leave a Reply

