Losing the dreaded “baby weight”. (My experience).

First of al, I am sorry for my absence. I have been focusing really hard on being the best mom I can be, and also bettering my physical and mental health. I have been listening to a lot of podcasts about inner peace and clarity, which have been helping me a lot.

ANYWAY.

So, baby weight sucks. Seriously. I hoped I would be one of those gals who delivered their babies and then the weight just melted right off. NOPE. Not the case.

I gained 60 pounds during my pregnancy. 60. Fricken. Pounds. Now I have lost more than half of that at this point in my post baby body journey, however I still find myself very unhappy with my physical appearance. I am usually able to lose weight easily and quickly, but that is because I would do it in a very unhealthy way. I would starve myself and overwork my body to the extreme. Now that I am a mom, I do not want to fall back into that dangerous cycle. So, I am trying to do this the healthy way; but goodness it is hard. I get frustrated the second I hit a plateau. I just want this chub gone.

How do I healthily lose this weight without reverting back to my old ways? How do I re learn everything I thought I knew about weight loss and a healthy lifestyle? Honestly, I am not sure. But I am trying my best, that is for sure. I have been working out 5-6  days a week, focusing on cardio and resistance training. My husband used to be a personal trainer so I am lucky to have him to encourage me when I get discouraged, which seems to be every other day.

If I were to give any new moms or any pregnant moms worried about the weight gain, I would probably just say be kind to yourself. Your body completely changes when you are pregnant. Not even just weighing more, the shape of your body  literally changes. You will most likely have stretch marks. Things will be different and not look the same. Keep in mind that you just created LIFE. Don’t be too hard on yourself. I have been trying to take this advice, even though sometimes I see my pant size and want to cry.

I am just trying to keep my head up and keep my workout regime consistent.

We got this. Mom bods can be super hot, too.

If anyone has any advice, please please comment! What types of diet and workouts worked for you guys? Yoga? Pilates? BBG? Let me know.

love,

Sara

(here are some pics of how my body has changed. it is so crazy how the human body can expand and shrink.)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

